Wikisage, the free encyclopedia of the second generation
If you only visit the Wikisage project websites, no more information is collected than the usual server log data. This means, that simply visiting Wikisage does not publicly expose your identity. Log data are used by the software to provide statistics.
If you contribute to Wikisage as a user, what you write is visible to any visitor, and may remain so for all times. This includes all pages, with some exceptions explained below. When you edit any page in the wiki, the page history will show your user name. If you sign a comment on a talkpage, the signature will point the reader to your account as well.
If you do not want the public to connect your edits to your true identity, use a pseudonym. Of course, that may make it harder, at least initially, to convince other users of your expertise.
In case you happen to know or guess the true identity of a user who is using a pseudonym, don't mention this on Wikisage.
Your user account is protected by a password. Make sure that others can't know or easily guess what it is. If you accidently stumble upon another user's password, chances are that others did so too. Therefore, warn the user to change it.
If you forget your password, you can reset it, provided that you have supplied an email address. If you haven't, contact Wikisage to enter an email address for you.
Note that only logged-in users can edit, so by editing you will not reveal your IP (internet provider) address to the public as may be the case on other wiki's. Be aware, however, that if need be, your IP address can be retrieved from the database by one of the few users with the checkuser ability. This may happen in case of misconduct. Even then, your IP address will not normally be revealed to the public, but Wikisage reserves the right to do so if the abuse is particularly grave.
Note that if you share an IP address with others, and you abuse your user rights to the extent that the address is blacklisted, the people that share the address with you will be denied access to Wikisage as well.
If you share a computer or a computer network, log out when you are done editing. Otherwise, another person may continue your session and edit in your name. Also, do not allow a cookie to store your password.
The software will set a temporary session cookie (PHPSESSID) each time you visit the wiki. If you deny this cookie, you cannot log in. The cookie will be deleted when you close your browser.
Other cookies may be set when you log in. They are used to avoid the need to type your user name (and optionally your password) on your next visit. These cookies remain up to 30 days, so you may need to clear them if you are sharing a computer or computer network and don't want to expose your username. If so, clear the browser cache as well.
You may supply an email address in your preferences. This enables other logged-in users to send you email through the wiki. Your address will remain invisible to them unless you use it to respond, or possibly if the email bounces. Occasionally, email addresses may be used by Wikisage to mass communicate with its users.
Log data can be accessed by developers to help solve technical problems and on rare occasions to identify web spiders or investigate abuse. They are discarded each month. Personal data collected from logs will only be used in emergencies and for legal purposes.
Sharing personal information
Wikisage will not share private information, such as email addresses, with third parties, unless you agree to release this information, or it is legally required to release the information. When legally required to release such information, Wikisage will, if possible and legally allowed, notify those users whose personal data have been released.
User accounts may be removed if a user has no intention to contribute to the project, or if the username is considered unacceptable and the user supplies no new name when requested.
User accounts may also be renamed or deleted on request of the user.
Deleting text from a Wikisage page does not remove it from the database. Older versions of a page can be accessed through a page's history. If the entire page is deleted, any administrator can still access the deleted content, and it may happen that a deleted page is later restored.
Only in very exceptional cases, primarily on legal or humanitarian grounds, will any content be removed from the database.
Wikisage maintains a number of IRC channels. Note that by participating in an IRC channel, your IP address may be exposed to other participants. Participants are not allowed to publish chat logs of these channels.
Wikisage makes no guarantee against unauthorized access to any information you provide, nor against any software or settings errors that may cause this information to be revealed.